Fantastic Response to New Staff Awards

Fantastic Response to New Staff Awards

The compassion showed by the intensive care unit team to a colleague diagnosed with a serious medical condition, has earned them the Chairman’s Special Award in the first ever NHS Forth Valley Staff Awards.

The nomination, which described the team as incredible, paid tribute to their efforts to help a fellow member of staff by shaving their heads in support, raising £2,500 for charity, and accompanying the colleague to appointments.

Presenting the trophy at the inaugural NHS Forth Valley staff recognition awards ceremony, chairman Alex Linkston said the team believes that the caring environment they provide is reflected in positive staff attitudes towards one another.

He explained:  “The team believes they make a difference to patients and their loved ones, and this nomination is an example of how caring they are. I am proud of what they achieved during this challenging time for one of their colleagues.”

The Chairman’s Special Award was one of seven new awards presented to recognise the work of individuals, teams and volunteers across NHS Forth Valley. In total more than 350 nominations were received.


Outstanding Care Award

  • Dee melia – Winner
  • Ann Begg, Midwife
  • Kathleen MacLeod, Community Psychiatric Nurse
  • Ward 2, Bo’ness Hospital

Innovation Award

  • Theatre Team – Winner
  • One to one Macmillan Pilot Team
  • Pre-operative assessment team
  • Sharon Coggins and Jennifer Szotek, Midwife Practitioners

Inspiration Award

  • Sharon Oswald – Consultant Nurse, Acute Care – Winner
  • Nicola Doonan – Charge Nurse, B21/22
  • Caroline Gill – Senior Nurse, Lochview Hospital
  • Pamela McIntoch- Senior dietician

Top Team Award

  • Emergency Department – Joint Winner
  • Acute Receiving Unit – Joint Winner
  • Child protection Team
  • Day Surgery Team
  • Oncology Breast Clinic Team
  • Intensive Care Team

Unsung Hero Award

  • Jane Kaney – Medical Records – Winner
  • Elaine Fraser – Health Care Support Worker, Westbank Day Hospital
  • Mary McMeeckin – Health Care Assistant, Westbank Day Hospital
  • Angela Park – Clinical Support Nurse, Cardiology
  • Margaret Thomson – Ward Clerkess, AAU

Volunteers Award

  • Roy Gordon, Volunteer, Emergency Department – Winner
  • Forth Valley Information Group Volunteers
  • Oncology Volunteers
  • So Precious Charity
  • Chairman’s Award
  • Intensive Care Unit Team

Winter 2014/15 Everyone Matters